POL-2016

GAUHATI UNIVERSITY Centre for Distance and Online Education

M.A. Second Semester

(under CBCS)

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Paper: POL 2016 POLITICAL THEORY-I



Contents:	Page No.
Block I: Political Theory: An Introduction	
Unit 1: What is Political theory?	4-20
Unit 2: Why do we need Political Theory?	21-30
Unit 3: Historical tradition of Political Theory	31-41
Unit 4: Contemporary debates in Political Theory	42-58
Unit 5: Decline of Political Theory	59-78
Block II: Nation and State	
Unit 1: Nation and State	80-108
Unit 2: Sovereignty	109-128
Unit 3: Nation and Nationhood	129-138
Unit 4: National Self-determination	139-158
Unit 5: State and globalization	159-174
Block III: Understanding Power	
Unit1: Power, authority and legitimacy	176-197
Unit 2: Dimensions of Power	198-212
Unit 3: Ideology and power	213-225
Unit 4: Pluralist and Elitist notions of power	226-240
Unit 5: Power as subject: Foucauldian perspective	241-251
Block IV: Democracy	
Unit 1: Procedural vs. Substantive Conceptions of Democracy	253-264
Unit 2: Liberal democracy: issues and perspectives	265-278
Unit 3: Democracy and Citizenship	279-301
Unit4: Participation, Representation and Majoritarianism	302-320
Unit 5: Conditions for sustaining liberal democracy	321-332

SLM Develo	pment Team:
-------------------	-------------

Head, Department of Political Science, GU

Programme Coordinator, MA in Political Science, GUCDOE

Dr. Barnalee Choudhury, Assistant Professor, GUCDOE

Dr. Chayanika Sarma, Assistant Professor, GUCDOE

Dr. Jonaki Dutta, Assistant Professor, GUCDOE

Contributors:

Dr. Chayanika Sarma Block: I(Unit-1,2,3)

Asstt. Prof., GUCDOE

Dr. Sabrina Iqbal Block: I (Unit-4)

Asstt. Prof., Pragjyotish College

Dr. Parvin Sultana Block: I (Unit-5)

Asstt. Prof. P.B. College, Gauripur

Dr. Pallavi Deka Block: II (Unit-1)

Asstt. Prof., Handique Girls College

Dr. Saiki Talukdar Block: II (Unit-2 & 3)

Asstt. Prof., Kamrup College

Dr. Arup Kumar Deka Block: II (Unit-4 & 5), Block: IV (Unit-3)

Asstt. Prof., S.N. Das College

Dr. Bhaben Kakati Block: III (Unit-1 & 4), Block: IV (Unit-4 & 5)

Asstt. Prof., Kamrup College

Rajashri Agnibashya Block: III (Unit-2)

Asstt. Prof., USTM

Dipankar Saikia Block: III (Unit-3)

Editor, SLM, GUCDOE

Dr. Juthika Das Block: III (Unit-5), Block: IV (Unit-1 & 2)

Asstt. Prof., Sapatgram College

Content Editors:

Prof. Akhil Ranjan Dutta Block: I(Unit-1, 4 & 5)

Dept. of Political Science, GU

Dr. Barnalee Choudhury Block: I (Unit-2 & 3)

Asstt. Prof., GUCDOE

Dr. Barasa Deka Block: IV(Unit-2, 4 & 5)

Asstt. Prof., Dept. of Political Science, GU

Dr. Arup Kumar Deka Block: II (Unit-1, 2 & 3) Asstt. Prof., Suren Das College, Hajo Block: III (Unit-1, 4 & 5) Dr. Saiki Talukdar Block: II (Unit-4 & 5) Asstt. Prof., Kamrup College Block: III (Unit-2 & 3)

Block: IV (Unit-1 & 3)

Course Coordination:

Director, GUCDOE Dr. Debahari Talukdar

Prof. Dhruba Pratim Sharma Programme Coordinator, GUCDOE

Dept. of Political Science, G.U. Assistant Professor, GUCDOE

Dr. Barnalee Choudhury

Mr. Dinapnkar Saikia Editor SLM, GUCDOE

Cover Page Designing:

Bhaskar Jvoti Goswami **GUCDOE** Nishanta Das **GUCDOE**

ISBN: 978-81-964942-5-4

March, 2024

© Copyright by GUCDOE. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, or otherwise.

Published on behalf of Gauhati University Centre for Distance and Online Education by the Director, and printed at Gauhati University Press, Guwahati-781014.